Youth Transition Services (YTS)

Youth Transition Services is geared toward individuals age 16 to 18 who have behavioral health issues (anxiety, depression, bipolar disorder, and/or other diagnoses are accepted), mood disorders, eating disorders, behavioral disorders, and/or substance abuse issues. Individuals will work with an YTS worker to develop an individualized plan to allow them to receive assistance and support in gaining knowledge, skills and abilities related to living independently.

The individual will receive resources, information and assistance related to:

  • Personal Care Skills
  • Home Maintenance Skills
  • Diet Maintenance Skills
  • Personal Finance Skills
  • Leisure Time Skills
  • Medication Knowledge
  • Community Living Skills
  • Social Skills
  • Educational Skills
  • Social Behavior
  • Crisis Planning Skills
  • Housing Assistance
  • And More!

This program is designed to provide services to individuals who are diagnosed with a mental illness of who have a substance abuse issue. To be admitted to the YTS Program, an individual must meet all of the following criteria:

  1. Be between 16 and 26 years of age.
  2. Be diagnosed or be willing to receive a diagnosis in mental illness or have a substance abuse issue.
  3. Be a resident of Region I in Nebraska.
  4. Have parental/guardian permission if under 19 years of age.
  5. Not reside in a nursing home or rehab facility.
  6. Meet financial eligibility guidelines.

Services are provided for the consumer in the consumer’s place of choice. Normal appointment hours are from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday. A Service Coordinator can be contacted during the evening and/or weekends only in the case of an emergency. The crisis line number is given to all YTS consumers. For the purposes of this program, an “emergency” occurs when a consumer thinks that he/she may be about to hurt him/herself or someone else.

Any individual can refer themselves or refer another person. The Human Services Manager contacts all individuals referred within seven business days of receiving the referral.

Services are provided in Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, and Sioux Counties. These services are funded through Region 1 Behavioral Health Authority.